Miscellaneous

Fun Times Recording Watch Parties with OBS

For the past couple of weeks I’ve been getting more into using OBS and trying my hand at recording watch parties with some old and new acquaintances of mine, with one particular show being the target of much critical and mocking commentary. (And some praises! I’m always looking out for the positives and say nice things when I can.) These sessions ran for about 3-4 hours each.

However, it’s only now become apparent to me that the last two sessions I recorded… did not pick up my voice. At all.

So imagine my shock (among other negative emotions) at this discovery.

Now, I’ll admit I should have listened back to the second last recording before doing the latest so that I wouldn’t have made the same blunder AGAIN.

(At the least. Obviously, I should have paid more attention to my the visuals for my mic audio in OBS when I was talking during the recording, and then change the settings and start over after recognizing it not registering.) My only excuse is perpetual severe tiredness. (Which isn’t a good one. In any sense.)

This is an error I made for the first session as well when I set out to ensure that OBS would pick up my microphone in the recording, because I did have a prior experience where I foolishly trusted it was doing just that, and later upon review it turned out that it wasn’t. So I’m audible in that one (and a couple others), at least.

It took a while for me to figure out why my mic wasn’t working, but I eventually realized the ‘issue’ and easily resolved it. (Tldr; I somehow missed the obvious and simple thing, then promptly felt like an idiot and apologized to everyone in the call for taking so long.)

But it appears that I had not learned my lesson. (sigh)

I’m going to try and get over this recent upset by documenting as much as I can remember discussing in those two recordings and maybe posting (some of it) here.

Still super tired, so who knows when that will be. (Assuming I can recollect much in the way of substance or entertainment value I may have said. Assuming I had anything of worth to say in the first place.)

That said, I still did enjoy the watch parties. As tired as I was, it was fun to engage in the analytical discussions, creative writing exercises, and heartening banter with the lads. So, it wasn’t a total loss.

Besides, now I don’t have to spend who knows how long sifting through several hours of footage for just a couple of highlights to clip and edit into something potentially satisfying to me and of dubious merit to everyone else.

(As much as I wanted to do that so I could improve in editing and maybe have something amusing to upload onto YouTube, I’m trying to look at the silver lining here so that I stop dwelling on my witless failures and move on ASAP. The fatigue is helping with that more than anything right now, though…)

Leave a comment